NR and blood NAD+

Nicotinamide riboside, an NAD+ precursor vitamin: does swallowing it raise NAD+? In human trials, blood NAD+ rose

Does swallowing NR raise NAD+? In an 8-week randomized trial of overweight adults, 100, 300 and 1,000 mg raised whole blood NAD+ by 22%, 51% and 142% within two weeks, and the rise held.

Article info

How we made this. Made with AI and checked against every study we cite. It is not medical advice.

Updated:

Evidence: 7 studies, 7 in humans.

  • A 6 human RCT or meta-analysis
  • B 1 small, pilot or observational human study
Three mint-green drops fall in a line into an amber pool of concentric ripples set between layered teal hills on an off-white background.
Illustration: AI-generated for Healthspan Post. Conceptual, not a scientific depiction.

Nicotinamide riboside, or NR, is an NAD+ precursor vitamin: a building block the body can turn into NAD+ (Conze 2019). In human trials, swallowing it raised blood NAD+. In an 8-week randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled trial of overweight but otherwise healthy adults, 100, 300 and 1,000 mg of NR raised whole blood NAD+ by 22%, 51% and 142% within two weeks, and the rise held for the rest of the study (Conze 2019).

Here is how NR got from rodent studies to human trials, and what those trials measured.

How it was found

Interest in NR grew out of interest in NAD+. Researchers came to see NAD+ as a key co-substrate for enzymes involved in the benefits of regular calorie restriction on healthspan, and proposed NAD+ precursors as a way to improve physiological function with aging in humans (Martens 2018). In preclinical models, NAD+ was reported to decline with aging, but human data were sparse (Elhassan 2019).

In rodent studies, NR supplementation eased metabolic dysfunction (Elhassan 2019). The question for people was whether swallowing it would raise NAD+ at all.

In 2017, an open-label, non-randomized study of 8 healthy volunteers measured exactly that. They took 250 mg of NR on days 1 and 2, stepped up to 1,000 mg twice daily by days 7 and 8. Whole blood NAD+ rose 100% from baseline, and there were no adverse events (Airhart 2017).

In 2018, a randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled crossover trial with two 6-week periods found that chronic NR was well tolerated and effectively stimulated NAD+ metabolism in healthy middle-aged and older adults (Martens 2018).

Figure 1. NMN sits one step from NAD+ in the salvage pathway, the main route cells use to keep NAD+ topped up.

Source: Covarrubias et al., Nature Reviews Molecular Cell Biology, 2021 (PubMed 33353981).

What the human trials later showed

The dose question came next. In the 8-week trial, each higher dose raised whole blood NAD+ further: 22% at 100 mg, 51% at 300 mg and 142% at 1,000 mg. The rise appeared within two weeks and held for the rest of the study, with no reports of flushing and no significant difference in adverse events versus placebo (Conze 2019).

In one 21-day randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled crossover trial, 12 older men took 1 g of NR a day. NR raised the muscle NAD+ metabolome, which the authors take as evidence that oral NR is available to aged human muscle, and it lowered circulating inflammatory cytokines (Elhassan 2019).

At the high end, a four-week randomized, double-blind safety trial in 20 people with Parkinson’s disease gave 10 of them 1,500 mg twice daily. Blood NAD+ rose up to five-fold, with no moderate or severe adverse events (Berven 2023).

Study Design People Dose / Duration Result Grade
Airhart 2017 Pilot (open-label, non-randomized) 8 healthy volunteers 250 mg stepped up to 1,000 mg twice daily / 9 days Whole blood NAD+ rose 100%; no adverse events B
Martens 2018 RCT (crossover) Healthy middle-aged and older adults Not reported / 2 × 6 weeks Well tolerated; stimulated NAD+ metabolism A
Conze 2019 RCT Overweight but otherwise healthy adults 100, 300 or 1,000 mg / 8 weeks Whole blood NAD+ rose 22%, 51% and 142% within 2 weeks, and held A
Elhassan 2019 RCT (crossover) 12 older men 1 g a day / 21 days Muscle NAD+ metabolome raised; circulating inflammatory cytokines lowered A
Berven 2023 RCT 20 people with Parkinson’s disease (10 on NR) 1,500 mg twice daily / 4 weeks Blood NAD+ rose up to five-fold; no moderate or severe adverse events A
McDermott 2024 RCT 90 people with peripheral artery disease Not reported (NR, with or without resveratrol) / 6 months 6-minute walk +17.6 meters versus placebo A
Prokopidis 2025 Meta-analysis Adults with a mean age of 60.9 to 83 NMN or NR versus placebo, several RCTs Current evidence does not support NMN or NR for muscle mass and function A

Beyond NAD+ levels, NR also has a walking result. In a 6-month randomized, double-blind trial of 90 people with peripheral artery disease, NR improved 6-minute walk distance by 17.6 meters versus placebo (+7.0 versus −10.6 meters), and adding resveratrol brought no further benefit (McDermott 2024).

The limit is muscle more broadly: a 2025 systematic review and meta-analysis of randomized trials concluded that current evidence does not support NMN or NR for preserving muscle mass and function in adults with a mean age over 60 (Prokopidis 2025).

Where it stands now

The human trials establish the NAD+ rise. NR raised whole blood NAD+ by 100% in an open-label study (Airhart 2017), by 22% to 142% depending on dose in an 8-week randomized trial (Conze 2019), and up to five-fold at 1,500 mg twice daily (Berven 2023), and it was well tolerated in the trials that reported safety. Whether that rise changes how energetic people feel day to day is something these trials did not measure.

Publication years 2017 to 2025; people studied on a log scale. 7 of 7 studies are in humans. Airhart 2017: pilot, n 8, grade B. Elhassan 2019: RCT, n 12, grade A. Berven 2023: RCT, n 20, grade A. McDermott 2024: RCT, n 90, grade A. Martens 2018: RCT, n not reported, grade A. Conze 2019: RCT, n not reported, grade A. Prokopidis 2025: meta-analysis, n not reported, grade A.
Show the data behind this chart
Studies in the evidence map
StudyYearPeople (n)GradeIn humans
Airhart 201720178BYes
Martens 20182018not reportedAYes
Conze 20192019not reportedAYes
Elhassan 2019201912AYes
Berven 2023202320AYes
McDermott 2024202490AYes
Prokopidis 20252025not reportedAYes

Figure 2. Every study cited in this article, by year published and number of people studied. Color shows the evidence grade. Studies that reported no sample size sit in the separate strip below the chart.

Source: Healthspan Post analysis of the 7 studies cited in this article (PubMed).

Next step

The question most readers ask next is how a building block becomes NAD+ inside the body, and where NR sits in that pathway. The evidence page that maps that route, how NMN and NR become NAD+ in human trials, is the next one to read: https://healthspanpost.com/articles/how-do-nmn-and-nr-become-nad-in-human-trials-both-raised-blood-nad/

RULES CHECK

1 sourced: PASS — every research claim cites a paper in evidence.jsonl (Airhart 2017, Martens 2018, Conze 2019, Elhassan 2019, Berven 2023, McDermott 2024, Prokopidis 2025); years match evidence.jsonl 2 disclosure+sponsored: N/A — no product named, no affiliate link (discover day) 3 no testimonials: PASS 4 structure/function: PASS — no product on the page; disease populations named only as where trials ran 5 no persona: PASS 6 own channels: PASS 7 not AU / no creds: PASS 8 doubts: none Notes (reviewer): rewrote the title to be two-sided; cut uncited and inaccurate mechanism lines (“can’t swallow NAD+”, “rebuilt every time it is spent”); scoped Conze’s 22–142% to its one trial and population and dropped “per day” (not in the abstract); corrected Airhart (9-day uptitration, not single dose), Elhassan (muscle NAD+ metabolome, not muscle NAD+), Berven (10 of 20 on NR, Parkinson’s disease), McDermott (17.6 m is versus placebo) and Prokopidis (its conclusion covers NMN and NR; stated once, not three times); cited Martens 2018 for the calorie-restriction sentence lifted from its abstract; restored the real Berven and McDermott titles; added “What we don’t know yet”; US spelling.

References

  1. Airhart SE, Shireman LM, Risler LJ, et al. (2017). An open-label, non-randomized study of the pharmacokinetics of the nutritional supplement nicotinamide riboside (NR) and its effects on blood NAD+ levels in healthy volunteers. PLoS One. PubMed 29211728
  2. Martens CR, Denman BA, Mazzo MR, et al. (2018). Chronic nicotinamide riboside supplementation is well-tolerated and elevates NAD+ in healthy middle-aged and older adults. Nat Commun. PubMed 29599478
  3. Conze D, Brenner C, Kruger CL (2019). Safety and Metabolism of Long-term Administration of NIAGEN (Nicotinamide Riboside Chloride) in a Randomized, Double-Blind, Placebo-controlled Clinical Trial of Healthy Overweight Adults. Sci Rep. PubMed 31278280
  4. Elhassan YS, Kluckova K, Fletcher RS, et al. (2019). Nicotinamide Riboside Augments the Aged Human Skeletal Muscle NAD+ Metabolome and Induces Transcriptomic and Anti-inflammatory Signatures. Cell Rep. PubMed 31412242
  5. Berven H, Kverneng S, Sheard E, et al. (2023). NR-SAFE: a randomized, double-blind safety trial of high dose nicotinamide riboside in Parkinson's disease. Nat Commun. PubMed 38016950
  6. McDermott MM, Martens CR, Domanchuk KJ, et al. (2024). Nicotinamide riboside for peripheral artery disease: the NICE randomized clinical trial. Nat Commun. PubMed 38871717
  7. Prokopidis K, Moriarty F, Bahat G, et al. (2025). The Effect of Nicotinamide Mononucleotide and Riboside on Skeletal Muscle Mass and Function: A Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis. J Cachexia Sarcopenia Muscle. PubMed 40275690